Biographies Ruthven Todd (1914-1978)

Ruthven Todd was born in Edinburgh, Scotland, in 1914. A poet, artist, and novelist, he was best known for his Space Cats children’s series and as an editor of William Blake’s work. Todd’s collections of poetry include The Acreage of the Heart (1944), In Other Worlds (1951), A Mantelpiece of Shells (1954), and Garland for the Winter Solstice (1961). He published the allegorical novels Over the Mountain (1939) and The Lost Traveller (1943), as well as a detective series under the pseudonym R.T. Campbell. The recipient of two Guggenheim Fellowships, Ruthven Todd died in 1978.

Audio Recordings with Ruthven Todd

Selected Works at the Library of Congress