Biographies C. D. Wright (1949-2016)

C. D. Wright credit Forrest Gander

C. D. Wright was born in Mountain Home, Arkansas in 1949. She is the author of 16 poetry collections, including String Light (1991); Rising, Falling, Hovering (2008), winner of the Griffin International Prize; One with Others (2010), which received the National Book Critics Circle Award; and, most recently, ShallCross (2016). She is the recipient of fellowships from the Guggenheim, MacArthur, and Witter Bynner Foundations, and the National Endowment for the Arts. Her other honors include the Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize and the Poetry Center Book Award. Wright was the Poet Laureate of Rhode Island from 1994-1999 and was elected Chancellor of the Academy of American Poets in 2013. A co-founder of Lost Road Press, Wright was the Israel J. Kapstein Professor of English at Brown University. C. D. Wright died in 2016.

Audio Recordings of C. D. Wright

Selected Works at the Library of Congress